WHO'S THAT LION?

présentation

Jazz has been oozing through each breath and sweat drop of this fiercely dancing animal for more than 35 years now! Jazz? Well… not only: song, poetry, rock, even hip-hop are all more than fine for him.


The Collectif du Lion can best be defined as an artists’ collective; some of its members have been here since the very beginning. They come from different backgrounds and disciplines and join forces for creations and productions, multidisciplinary projects, musical bands… around a shared sense for aesthetics.


“(...) I have come to know a bit better the strange inhabitants of this imaginary planet. These are musicians who have a sense for generosity, a taste not only for research and innovation but also and especially for sharing. No doubt this is the reason why they have adopted other broad-minded travelers fond of innovative music (...) For thirty years now, the Collectif from Liège has taken a unique place in contemporary jazz, or rather in contemporary music, for , that there lies its strength: it crosses borders, cracks codes and invents new ones, while respecting its hosts ... and the others.
There are indeed few streams powerful enough to leave a mark, without destroying anything, in the musical landscape often way too conservative. Fortunately, jazz is without doubt one of the disciplines most open to that kind of ventures. And fortunately for us, within jazz, musicians like those of the Lion relentlessly open new spaces in order to go further than the music itself.”

Jacques Prouvost

Excerpt from the preface to “Sur la piste du Collectif du Lion…”


 

As of its very early works, the creative framework of the Collectif du Lion has been thriving on a wide variety of traditions, influences and practices (jazz, contemporary music, theatre, song, literature...). All this was “filtered” to extract our essence, our living memory, as craftsmen do, by doing and re-doing, to discover our own identity, a recognizable and very personal speech tone blending rigor with poetry, joy with nostalgia, emotion and legibility.
Right from the very first musical bands who were parts of the Collectif du Lion, the desire has always been the same: that of a real band, a sound, a profound song (the “duende”), before and beyond genres and styles. The desire for chivalrous paths and real emotions like those found in primitive music with no will to even sound modern. The quest for primal vibration and organic melody, for the rhythm and the movement of a singing or moving body, and those of the pleasure-seeking listener, awake, alert and smart. Similar yearning infuses everything you will find in this website; our music, our teaching style, our collaborations, our interdisciplinary projects ... Do and re-do, as craftsmen do!”

Michel Debrulle

 

LION TALES

Once upon a time, a bunch of young musicians gathered, all coming from a time blessed by the gods... Henri Pousseur, a visionary man and the head of Liège Royal Conservatory at that time, opened the doors of his temple to musicians and teachers from all backgrounds and horizons, whether with or without a degree.

Soon after the opening of the Jazz Seminars and Improvisation Classes that looked and sounded more like laboratories, the need for playgrounds was felt by all those involved. The “Lion S’Envoile” (a jazz club reinvented by the Cirque Divers) would soon become one of prime importance; it actually inspired us for the names of our first bands: the Orchestre du Lion and the Collectif du Lion. This musical buzzing frenzy gave birth to many other bands and groups, along with the need for a structure capable of coping with these artists’ lives.
Established in 1989, our non-profit organisation was named Le Collectif du Lion as a tribute to that jazz club, a truly special venue for experimentation, production and distribution.



In case you want to know more (and read French…), dive into the book Sur la piste du Collectif du Lion… Une aventure plus que musicale, fifth volume of the Voies de la Création Culturelle, published in 2015 by PAC Press.

 

ADVENTURE in IMAGES

 
 

Sur la piste du
Collectif du Lion

 une aventure plus que musicale 

 

In 2014, Claude Fafchamps (Arsenic2) and Yanic Samzun (Présences et Actions Culturelles) invited us to produce the fifth volume of the collection «Les Voies de la Création Culturelle» – PAC Press.
The goal of this collection is to recount the experiences lived, to make them more visible and legible, to make a place to provide a status and to appreciate the inventive actions which leave the standards of industrial cultural consumption.
This 192 page book with different authors and magnificently illustrated by the Racasse Studio team, “shows us that the sparse paths converge to another way of creating, a means to create together”. This Lion is sparse?”
Jacques Prouvost – JaZzques 18/06/2015

​Librairies musicales
  • Point d’orgue
    25, Place de la Justice
    1000 Bruxelles

  • Adagio Music
    28, rue Ravenstein
    1000 Bruxelles

  • Ptyx
    39, rue Lesbroussart
    1050 Bruxelles

 a fascinating book 
 with 192 color pages 
  and more than 300 pictures
written in French

35TH ANNIVERSARY BOOK

 

PARTNERS

Le travail du Collectif du Lion est régulièrement accompagné et soutenu par Arsenic2

© Photos, vidéos, musiques, textes, logo

& illustration. Tous droits réservés.
© Photos, videos, music, text, logo

& illustration. All rights reserved.

MIS À JOUR  - UPDATED : juin 19

CONTACT

Collectif du Lion asbl

49 rue Belleflamme boîte J

B - 4030 Liège

N.E  0439-041-89

collectifdulion@gmail.com

WEB MASTER > Racasse Studio

Collectif du Lion  +32 (0)478 39 02 49

C'EST QUI CE LION ?

présentation

Cela fait plus de 35 ans que la bête respire, transpire et bouge jazz! Mais pas que: la chanson, la danse, la poésie, la performance, le rock, la rue… ne sont pas pour lui déplaire!


Le Collectif du Lion se vit comme une compagnie d’artistes (certains sont présents depuis les origines!). Ils et elles viennent de différentes disciplines et s’associent au gré de créations, projets pluridisciplinaires, groupes musicaux… autour d’une esthétique partagée.


«(…) j’ai appris à connaître un peu mieux les étranges habitants de cette planète imaginaire. Ce sont des musiciens qui ont le sens de la générosité, le goût de la recherche et de l’innovation, mais aussi et surtout celui du partage. C’est sans doute pour cette raison qu’ils ont adopté d’autres voyageurs aux musiques innovantes et aux idées larges (…) Depuis bientôt trente ans, le collectif liégeois s’est fait une place particulière dans le jazz actuel, ou plutôt dans la musique actuelle car, là est sa force: il va au-delà des frontières, il brise les codes, en invente de nouveaux, tout en respectant les hôtes… et les autres.
Il y a peu de courant, en définitive, qui sont assez puissants pour marquer, sans rien détruire, le paysage musical parfois trop conservateur. Heureusement, le jazz est sans doute l’une des disciplines les plus ouvertes à toutes ces aventures. Et, heureusement pour nous, au sein du jazz, des musiciens comme ceux du Lion ne cessent d’ouvrir encore et encore les espaces afin d’aller plus loin que la musique elle-même.»

Jacques Prouvost

Extrait de la préface 'Sur la piste du Collectif du Lion…'


 

«Le cadre créatif du Collectif du Lion est nourri dès le départ de traditions, d’influences et de pratiques diverses (jazz, musique contemporaine, théâtre, chanson, littérature…). Tout cela nous l’avons ‘filtré’ pour en extraire notre essence, notre mémoire vivante tel l’artisan dans le faire et le ‘re-faire’, pour découvrir notre identité propre, un discours personnel, reconnaissable, mêlant rigueur et poésie, joie et nostalgie, émotion et lisibilité.
Dès les premières formations musicales à l’origine du Collectif du Lion, l’envie a toujours été la même: celle d’un vrai groupe, d’un son, d’un chant profond (el duende), au-delà et en deçà des genres. Le désir de parcours chevaleresques, d’émotions vraies que véhiculent les musiques primitives, sans souci de modernité. La recherche de la vibration primaire, de l’organicité de la mélodie, du rythme, du mouvement du corps chantant, du corps bougeant, de l’auditeur en alerte, intelligent, jouisseur. Aujourd’hui, les mêmes aspirations traversent tout ce que vous découvrirez dans ce site; dans les musiques, la pédagogie, les collaborations, les projets interdisciplinaires…faire et refaire tel l’artisan!»

Michel Debrulle

 

HISTOIRE DE LIONS

Il était une fois un rassemblement de jeunes musiciens issus d’un temps béni de tous les dieux... Un grand visionnaire et directeur du Conservatoire Royal de Liège, Henri Pousseur, ouvre les portes du Temple à des musiciens et professeurs diplômés ou non, de tous horizons.

L’ouverture des Séminaires de Jazz et Classes d’Improvisation aux allures de laboratoire musical auront très vite besoin de terrains de jeu. Le Lion S’Envoile (club de jazz réinventé par le Cirque Divers) en sera un de première importance; il inspirera le nom des premiers groupes: l’Orchestre du Lion et le Collectif du Lion. Cette effervescence musicale donne vie à bien d’autres formations et bientôt se pose la question de la nécessité d’une structure ‘pouvant gérer ces vies d’artiste’…
L’asbl mise en place en ’89 sera baptisée Collectif du Lion fidèle à ce club de jazz, lieu privilégié d’expérimentation et de diffusion.


Si vous voulez en savoir plus, plongez-vous dans le livre «Sur la piste du Collectif du Lion… Une aventure plus que musicale» Cinquième volume des Voies de la Création Culturelle sorti en 2015 aux éditions du PAC.

 

L'AVENTURE EN IMAGES

 
 

Sur la piste du
Collectif du Lion

 une aventure plus que musicale 

 

«Ce merveilleux et épais bouquin retrace avec précision le parcours atypique de ces «jeunes» qui ont été à l’origine d’une certaine école liégeoise. Outre Michel Debrulle et Myriam Mollet - chevilles ouvrières du Collectif - il faut saluer l’excellent travail d’écriture de Valérie Davreux, Jean-Pierre Goffin, Claude Loxhay et Jean-Pol Schroeder ainsi que les illustrations et la mise en page d’images inédites ou rares du Racasse Studio. On se rend compte, au fil de ces 200 pages, de l’impact que ces musiciens ont eu sur la musique, mais aussi dans la vie sociale et dans les arts en tous genres. «Sur la piste du Collectif du Lion» est un ouvrage indispensable qui permet, mine de rien, de bien mettre en lumière l’utilité de la culture dans notre société. A lire, donc» Jacques Prouvost – JaZzques 18/06/2015

​Librairies musicales
  • Point d’orgue
    25, Place de la Justice
    1000 Bruxelles

  • Adagio Music
    28, rue Ravenstein
    1000 Bruxelles

  • Ptyx
    39, rue Lesbroussart
    1050 Bruxelles

 Un livre passionnant 
 de 192 pages / couleurs 
 avec plus de 300 photos

LE LIVRE DES 35 ANS

 

PARTENAIRES

Le travail du Collectif du Lion est régulièrement accompagné et soutenu par Arsenic2

© Photos, vidéos, musiques, textes, logo

& illustration. Tous droits réservés.
© Photos, videos, music, text, logo

& illustration. All rights reserved.

MIS À JOUR  - UPDATED : juin 19

CONTACT

Collectif du Lion asbl

49 rue Belleflamme boîte J

B - 4030 Liège

N.E  0439-041-89

collectifdulion@gmail.com

WEB MASTER > Racasse Studio

Collectif du Lion  +32 (0)478 39 02 49